WSA: Crit Partner Match

This morning’s chapter in Chapter After Chapter was about writer’s groups and critique partners.  I’ve been beyond fortunate in finding Pot, whom I stumbled across in an LJ writing group a year and a half ago.  I feel like I’ve grown a great deal as a writer because of all the time and patience she’s shown toward me and my work.  Having a good crit parter is worth more than his or her weight in gold.  I did a little bit of googling this morning to see what was out there in terms of people who are seriously looking for crit partners.  I didn’t find much.  There seem to be occasional threads devoted to the issue on a few genre specific forums, but there are no centralized places for people of all genres to go to see about finding a crit partner (whether they’ve had one before or want someone new).

So I got to thinking.  Wouldn’t it be great if there were something like eHarmony or Match.com for writers?  A website devoted to hooking up new crit partners?  Naturally, since I have so much free time on my hands (snort) I decided to start one over on Ning: Crit Partner Match.  I know, stellar creative title isn’t it?  But I wanted it to be simple, something that will eventually show up on basic google searches for people looking for just such a service.  The network is set up in such a way that each new member will fill out a number of writing profile questions based on genre, the type of writing they do, etc..  They can then make a post in the forum or forums of their choice (separated out by genre) to introduce themselves and let others know that they are looking for a CP.  Of course, it will take time to populate it, and I will be getting in touch with the forum moderators of the various groups I’m in to get permission to post about it.  In the meantime, tell your friends to tell their friends.  Eventually, I hope this will be a hopping, happening, useful sort of resource for writers.

7 comments

  1. I think it’s smart to keep it simple like that, for the google reason. Like I said, whenever I get opportunities I’ll promo it for you, and I’ll definitely mention it on my blog and encourage others to mention it on their blog.

  2. You’re an angel! I have been searching for a CP for ages, trolling the writing sites and any other available resources. I had a wonderful writing partner for years, but she passed away a couple of years ago and I have been unable to find anyone else. I don’t really have time to involve myself in a writing forum if I intend to do any writing of my own.

    Just joined – fingers crossed.

  3. Oh, this is the greatest idea. I just joined too and I have high hopes. I will also mention it on my web site – not that so many people visit my web site, but still, maybe it helps a little. Thank you.

Penny for your thoughts...

